GIST Identified as e-Gov campus in SPSR Nellore Dt.,

On the occasion of UN Public Service Day, Geethanjali Institute of Science and Technology was selected as the e-Governance Campus for SPSR Nellore District to undertake various Research & Extension Projects in the domain of eGovernance in a programme organized by Engineering Watch at New Delhi. Prof. Dr. G. Subba Rao, Principal, GIST, was felicitated by Ms. Lise Grande, UN Resident Coordinator, Hon. Mr. Oscar Fernandes, Union Minister of Road transport and Highways, Dr. M Moni, Former Director General of NIC, Mr. Shankar Aggarwal, Addl. Secretary, Ministry of Defence, Dr. Rajendra Kumar, Jt. Secretary, e-Governance, DEITY, Ms. Rama Vedashree, Vice President, e-Governance, NASSCOM and Prof. Sanjeev Singh, Institute of Informatics and Communications, University of Delhi.

In order to further the penetration of various e-Governance programmes initiated by the Government of India and duly implemented by the State Government and various line agencies like NIC, Engineering Watch in association with National Informatics Centre (NIC)
(a Ministry of Communications and Information Technology organization) organized eGov Campus – an initiative to create eGov Cells on select Engineering Campuses across the country which would undertake various Research & Extension Projects in the domain of eGovernance in close coordination with various Government agencies. Institute of Informatics and Communication (IIC), Delhi University is the knowledge partner of this initiative. In phase 1 of this initiative, 100 engineering colleges were selected from across the country representing the 100 different districts. The selected colleges would be the nodal centres for all eGov Campus related activities in that district. This would include working closely with the District Administration, respective State Government, Government of India and various eGovernance Agencies. The selected campuses would be uniquely identified on a national level for their quality education and open intellectual environment with exemplary faculty & supporting management. An eminent selection committee chaired and headed by Dr. M Moni, Former Director General of NIC, selected the colleges on the basis of proposals submitted.


Nearly 100 District Magistrates and District Information Officers who have done exemplary work in the area of e-Governance were also felicitated on the occasion. Speaking on the occasion, Prof. Dr. G. Subba Rao, Principal, GIST, said that this shall be feather in the cap of Geethanjali, which shall foray into the research areas of e-Governance projects in close consultation with the District and State administration. The research shall be carried with the support of eminent faculty members and students utilizing the extensive infrastructural facilities in the institution. Mr. N. Sudhakar Reddy, Secreatry and Correspondent, GIST, Management members, staff and students congratulated the Department of CSE, GIST and expressed their solidarity and support in making the initiative a reality.